Thanksgiving and Christmas

My favorite holiday in the entire world is Christmas–not because of the presents, but because of the wonderful music, the colorful lights, the glorious candy, the colors, the smells, the weather, the fact that it represents Jesus’ birthday among other things, (and a whole month off school ha! ha!)

Now you may read that little paragraph and think — “oh she likes Christmas, so cute!”, but let me just lay this out for you. I absolutely LOOOOOVVVVE Christmas! Every single part of it! I love candlelight services at church, I love green wreaths with red bows, I love jingle bells, I love snowflakes, I love stockings, I love evergreen trees with ornaments, I love Christmas wrapping paper, I love snowmen with top hats and scarves, I love Christmas sugar cookies, I love gingerbread houses, I love love love nativity scenes, I love Christmas movies (A Wish for Wings that Work, White Christmas, Elf, The Grinch, The Christmas Classics, A Christmas Story, and all those cheesy ones on Fa La La La Lifetime), I also love the ABCFamily’s 25 Days of Christmas, I love candy canes, I love listening to Christmas music 24/7, I love walking through the snow with a snow hat and scarf with boots, I love Christmas Caroling, and anything else that has to do with Christmas.

I was voted “most likely to celebrate Christmas all year around” my senior year of high school, and I totally plan to live up to that title! There is seriously nothing wrong with it. Nothing offsets my Christmas spirit, it really is “THE MOST WONDERFUL TIME OF THE YEAR!”

On the other side of my Christmas cheer, a lot of people are angered by my spirit because I “skip over Thanksgiving”. The way I see things, I don’t skip over it. Where is it that you can’t celebrate Christmas everyday? Why can’t I celebrate both holidays. They are close together, and both have the BEST food, so why not mix them together??? My dorm room currently has a 3 foot tree with corn on it, and turkeys on the walls, with our stockings, santas, pilgrims, indians, angels, and snowflakes all living life together in harmony! I love Christmas, but I am “Thankful” for things every single day. I celebrate thanksgiving and Christmas every single day of my life. I wake up daily grateful for every breath my God has given me. My Christmas spirit gives me joy and peace. Why does it have to be celebrated on only one day? What is so wrong about being extra Christmassy Cheerful 365 days a year? I personally say nothing, and I will continue to celebrate it whenever I want. I find joy in Thanksgiving and Christmas and I will celebrate them all the time ๐Ÿ™‚

One thought on “Thanksgiving and Christmas

Leave a Reply

