College Experience….yep….

Ok, well I have made it through my first week of the big thing they call “College”. My first few days of classes were pretty boring because all the professors have to go through the rules, syllabus, and crap like that. –yes, I have kept up with all of them, and I actually wrote all the dates down in my little planner– I am off to a WONDERFUL start 🙂 However, at this very moment I just have to say–I have a freaking zit that hurts like a butt on my forehead, and I don’t like it! Aaanyywwaaaysss……

I have cooked easy mac, rice and broccoli, bagels, toast, and that is about it ha ha the stove is down the hallway, so I haven’t made it there to actually use it yet, but I will 🙂 I have eaten ice cream, and tons of snacks–I welcome in the Freshman 15 with open arms, but it seems to flee from me–OH WELL 🙂 

Mondays and Wednesdays are my big class days–especially for the first 8 weeks because I have Freshman Orientation at 9:30 on those days for the first 8 weeks only….after that Ill get to sleep in until 10 because my next class is at 10:30–the wonderful class of Political Science in which I will be calling Stacie and Clinton because my professor needs some help in that area if you know what I mean. ha! ha! I mean I love the woman–she is funny, she tries to get me interested, the book is online which is kinda frustrating-can’t do anything about it, the class is fine, just not my cup of coffee ya know?

After my Political Science class, I go to Drawing 1 in the art annex which is a little off campus, so I only have enough time to stop by my dorm-fix some chicken nuggets or something, and head out there. Now this class is fun–I get to draw in sketchbooks, and the first day we got to do “blind drawing” ha! ha! This is exactly what it sounds like, we had to draw different people in the class without looking at the paper, and we also were not allowed to pick up our pencil from the paper….I know! Way too easy right?! Bahahahahahahaha! I’m just kidding–all of us looked sooooo ridiculous, but it was a good way to meet people and show them my funny side  ha! ha! Oh, and I’m sure you want to know about the teacher–he is in his lower 50s probably, and he is kind of a dork ha! ha! he wears the khaki shorts, long patterned socks, converse shoes, and one of those short sleeved collared shirts that little boys wear on dress days ha! ha! But he curses a lot and he is stinking hilarious! He encourages us to completely let loose and feel free in that class, and I LOVE that about him! He is the typical crazy, laid back, free spirited art man 🙂

After my Drawing 1 class–which did I mention that class is 3 hours long?! Ya! It’s a doozy! Oh well, I enjoy it :). Anyway, after this long class I get to go all the way across campus to one of my most interesting classes–they call it Psychology 🙂 This class is taught by a grad student named Kristen. She is a hilarious woman that plays music during the class period, and cracks jokes the entire time, and does everything through slides and surveys! She is awesome—and no, she doesn’t need Stacie or Clinton-she dresses very well, and I might just have her talk to my Political Science teacher ha! ha! Anyway, this class is going to be quite a bit of work, but it’s ok, because I really enjoy the process of studying people 🙂

Once I have done all of that, I get to go back to my dorm call up some peeps and grab a bite to eat! It’s a good day!

For Tuesdays and Thursdays—my class schedule is pretty dang easy, I wake up and go to my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE class which is– dut duh duh duh! 3D ART! Yes, I get to play with clay, make sculptures, wood making, jewelry making, anything your heart can come up with I get to do in this class! I ADORE it! My first assignment is making a clay mosaic with texture and movement! It’s awesome! Ill post some pictures when I finish it! The teacher in this class is the epitome of hilarious! He is a huge beefy dude in his 30s that wears cargo shorts and colored v-necks everyday! He has the biggest arms and pecks I have ever seen! –yes Reagan, bigger than Chris Morgan!– I’m still debating if this guy is the real superman in hiding. He is a very sarcastic person, so he and I get along very well. And yes, this class is 3 hours as well–but the time completely flies! And I know it is totally shocking, but my table has been dubbed the fun, trouble-making table ha! ha! We’ll see how that goes 🙂 We are the loud laughing girls that talk the entire time–when we are allowed to of course 🙂

After this, I head back to my dorm to grab a bite then head over across campus to go to…..yep–Art History. This class is the class that I can just tell will be difficult, but it really does interest me 🙂 Although I do not understand what these crazy Art History majors are doing with their lives when they graduate–I feel like all they can do is teach this class ha! ha! Ooh well, their choice 🙂 Anyway….this was also my first class that ever mentioned anything to do with Christianity, and sadly, it was negative. She was talking about a date that read “30,000 bce” she said “We use bce because we don’t want to use that crazy BC Christian Crap” yeah…that touched a nerve with me! Let me tell ya! It was weird going from my little OCS Christian bubble where EVERY class became a Bible lesson, to college where the only time a teacher talked about it was to bash it. Oh well, “Welcome to the real world Megan!” But other than this fact, I really enjoyed this class–it is really interesting to see all the art from the beginning of time! I love all the little sculptures and cave paintings and such 🙂 The only thing that Yall have probably heard of that we have talked about this week is the lovely….Stonehenge 🙂 It was cool! The teacher is an older woman, that is very passionate about the art from Before Christ…ya! I said it! BC–no it aint crap to me woman! 

Oh well 🙂 Friday is a wonderful day– I only have to wake up and go to Political Science from 10:30 to 11:45. Then I’m done and I have the whole rest of the day to do whatever I want 🙂 It is glorious!

I have met a few people, and they have all been really sweet! Three girls I have really clung to are 3 girls from my 3D class. They sit at the fun trouble making table with me 🙂 Bayley, Katie, and Lauren! absolutely presh! We are going to have a good semester in there together, I can just tell ha! ha! Uuuummmmmmm……Abbey naturally has introduced me to 135634939473956 of her sorority sisters ha! ha! And I can only remember about…..2 of them 🙂 oops! 

I am also looking forward to something that I have decided to do—yes, I am joining a sorority, but it is completely non Greek if that makes sense ha! ha! It is the only Christian sorority on campus here, and as I was told, it is like a giant Bible study on steroids! I know it is a great way to meet good Christian girls, and I know that I can probably get connected with some good accountability there, and meet some life long friends! Rush starts Monday night, and I am oober excited! It should be a great way to keep my feet on a good foundation since I got separated from my foundation this year — shout out to Kenz and Reag! I love you guys!

Also…in latest news I think I found my new church home today! It is the lovely Sunnybrook 🙂 Their college ministry is really involved and accepting and wonderful! I just fell in love with the worship and the atmosphere around the church! It was awesome! I think I will probably start getting plugged in here! I’m very thankful for how good our God is for bringing me to such a wonderful place! He knows I needed it today! 🙂

And I just realized that I have been typing for a very long time so……

To sum up everything I have just said……It has been a wonderful week, classes are good, people are great, I’m joining a Christian sorority, and I’m pretty sure I found my church home 🙂

OH YA! I LOVE KENZ AND REAG BUNCHES! AND I WISH YOU GUYS COULD BE HERE TO EXPERIENCE ALL THIS WITH ME! CALL ME SOON BECAUSE I WANT TO HEAR YOUR LOVELY VOICES! I HAVE BUNCHIES MORE TO TELL YOU!

4 thoughts on “College Experience….yep….

  1. ok megan, I think i just had to create an account to comment on this haha…but I love you and miss you so come home and visit! We can meet at Coupies and Joes! loveeeeeee yoooouuu 🙂

    -erin

  2. Okay, I was TOTALLY wondering if they were as big as Chris Morgan!!! Hahahaha Thanks for the shoutouts. love it! Man, your schedule sounds awesome babe. Lots of art and drawing and such for your crazy artistic brain. My schedule is kind of opposite. My Monday and Wednesdays start at 1 and are pretty easy going. My Tuesdays and Thursdays start at 10 and are packed! But it’s good times. I’m still not sick of Ramen so that’s good! 🙂 but the cafeteria food here suuuuuuucks. I don’t think anyone eats it. I think they go hunt. But anyways. I love you dear and miss you like crazy and I’m so glad you have PhiLamb! You’re gonna love it and I wanna hear all about it! Especially the Hoe Down. Sorry your teacher sucks at dressing, but I’m glad you have a cool grad student! Anyways, I still wanna hear what song you would choose and why for my blog, but ya know, I’ll wait. Love you baby so so much. Miss you too, Kenz, if you’re a creeper and read all this.

Leave a Reply

